中国案例见解™: 《中国法律连接》与一带一路国家™

中国案例见解™: 《中国法律连接》与一带一路国家™*

出版日期:
2018/06/15
作者:
  • 英珍妮, 斯坦福法学院中国指导性案例项目执行编辑

要购买这文章的PDF文件,请使用上面的”购买这文章”按钮。
文章的全文可通过电子《中国法律连接》免费阅读。 请点击这里:



英珍妮
斯坦福法学院中国指导性案例项目执行编辑
B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM
英珍妮是斯坦福法学院中国指导性案例项目(CGCP)执行编辑。自CGCP创建时起,她就开始为其工作,尽管当时还是斯坦福法学院学生。她与CGCP创办人、总监熊美英博士就该项目的管理和发展紧密地合作,推出了关于指导性案例的突破性产品,并启动了一带一路系列从而深化利益相关者对此重要发展的理解。她还在不同司法管辖区(南非、印度、荷兰和匈牙利)的争议解决方面拥有经验。她亦一直从企业和法律角度审查大型投资项目,并分析其对社区的影响。最近她重点分析肯尼亚的中国投资项目。英女士获得耶鲁大学的文学学士学位(主修种族、人种和迁移)和斯坦福法学院的法学博士学位。

 


中法连聚焦

中国的一带一路倡议

 

2000多年前,亚洲、欧洲和非洲的主要文明通过广泛的贸易路线网络相互联系在一起,他们沿着这些路线交易丝绸和许多其它商品,共享科技,并进行各种知识和文化交流,影响着这个地区乃至于全世界的语言、实践和宗教(见1)。“丝绸之路”这个术这个术语通常指的就是这个网络,它让人联想到大型商队穿越沙漠的景象。然而,这些路线并不局限在陆地,还穿越了海洋。[1]

B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM 1
图1:中国新疆吐鲁番附近的Bezeklik千佛洞里9世纪的壁画特写,描绘了古代伊朗的粟特商人。原壁画于第二次世界大战期间被摧毁,该图显示的是彩色复制品。
来源:https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:BezeklikSogdianMerchants.jpg

快速前进到2013年秋季,当时中国国家主席习近平在中亚和东南亚进行正式访问,首次提到中国希望以新的形式重建历史性的丝绸之路的想法,并加强这些地区和中东,以及亚洲、欧洲和非洲其他部分现代化的海陆连接。2015年3月,中国政府正式宣布其发展“丝绸之路经济带和21世纪海上丝绸之路”或 “一带一路倡议”(“BRI”)的计划,其中有五大“合作重点”:政策沟通、设施联通、贸易畅通、资金融通、民心相通。[2]

参与倡议的国家

 

尽管BRI的实质性重点事项是明确的,但是其具体地理覆盖范围却并不如此。中国官方报道首次用于说明BRI的地图突出了两条主要路线(见2):一条通过中东连接中国内陆至欧洲,中途通过莫斯科的陆路(“丝绸之路经济带”);一条始于中国南部沿海,经过东南亚和太平洋岛屿地区、印度洋和非洲东部,然后穿越红海直至地中海的海路(“21世纪海上丝绸之路” )。然而,这张地图有误导性。上述的2015年官方文件中明确表示,欢迎所有国家以及国际和地区组织积极参与BRI。[3]

图2

无官方统计

官方没有对参与BRI的国家作出具体统计。2017年5月在北京召开的首届一带一路国际合作论坛(“2017一带一路论坛”)上,习主席表示已有68国家国际组织签署了“一带一路合作协议”。[4] 在2017年3月开通的的官方一带一路网站(www.yidaiyilu.gov.cn)上,其“国际合作”一栏介绍了72个国家。但是,是否只有这72个国家被视为正式加入这一全球倡议,这点尚不明确。

CGCP的统计

除非明确参与者是谁,否则BRI的重要性和其对全世界的影响,尤其是对中国国内外的法律发展的影响,无法得到彻底的理解。在希望阐明这些重要主题的驱使下,斯坦福法学院中国指导性案例项目(“CGCP”)于2016年11月启动了《一带一路系列》,跟踪世界各国参与BRI的情况,并在这系列中一带一路国家TM部分专门介绍这些国家。

根据CGCP的研究,不包括中国在内,目前有101个一带一路国家TM。依照CGCP的定义,这些国家大致分为两组。第一组是中国在其BRI计划中明确对准的国家,这一点可以通过将这些国家纳入一带一路门户网站和/或其公民、登记的公司涉及一带一路案例TM这一事实来证明。一带一路案例TM是最高人民法院发布的示范案例,展示了中国法院如何成功解决与BRI有关的争议。[5] 第二组是已经迈出肯定的一步来表示对BRI的兴趣和/或已经参与BRI的国家。这些国家或在2017年一带一路论坛上签署了谅解备忘录或者合作协议,[6] 或签署了和BRI相关的协议,或是在其他时间承诺支持BRI(见3)。

图3

根据这一定义,CGCP统计目前除了在一带一路网站上列出的72个国家外,还有另外29个一带一路国家TM。这29个国家包括:

  • 6个其公民或者公司涉及一带一路案例TM的国家;
  • 11个在2017年一带一路论坛上签订了谅解备忘录或者合作协议的国家(一带一路网站上列出的72个国家中,至少42个国家签署了这样的协议);[7] 以及
  • 12个在其他时间通过承诺或联合声明或与中国签署与BRI有关得协议,表达了他们的兴趣的国家。
图4

图4 展示了CGCP确定的101个一带一路国家TM的地理分布。[8] 有几点值得一提:

  • 45个(几乎全部)位于亚洲的国家

所有中亚(5个)、东南亚(11个)、南亚(9个)的国家,和西亚18个国家中的一个除外(即17个国家)都是一带一路国家TM。这些国家都是在一带一路网站上有专题介绍(见表1)。[9] 中国当局还强调了中国在东亚最近的邻居(3个国家),其中两个(即蒙古和韩国)被列入一带一路网站,而另一个涉及一带一路案例TM(即日本)。鉴于该地区对古代丝绸之路的重要性、习主席是在对中亚正式访问时首次提出BRI这一事实、在该大陆发展基础设施和其他关系的机会,亚洲国家预计会在这一全球计划中发挥核心作用。因此,几乎所有亚洲国家都是一带一路国家TM丝毫不让人觉得意外。

  • 34个位于欧洲的国家

BRI起源于中亚,像古代丝绸之路一样,也吸引了许多欧洲国家的参与。所有东欧国家(10个)和大部分南欧国家(7个)在一带一路网站上都有介绍。南欧其他国家(3个)通过签署与BRI有关的协议表示其对BRI的参与。[10] 虽然一带一路网站还重点介绍了一些北欧国家(即3个),但该分区域还有其他四个一带一路国家TM:其中两个涉及一带一路案例TM,另外两个已签署BRI相关协议。从一带一路网站上看,西欧是参与国最少的欧洲次区域(仅介绍了1个国家),尽管更多该区的国家因涉及一带一路案例TM (2个国家),或者签订了BRI相关协议(4个国家)而被视为一带一路国家TM(见2)。这似乎意味着,虽然西欧国家对BRI相当感兴趣,中国也乐见其参与,但还需要做更多的工作才能使其成为中国计划的核心。

  • 14个位于非洲的国家

尽管中国希望继续加强与非洲国家的关系,但表3显示,许多这些国家还没有明确表达加入BRI的意愿。尽管非洲部分国家在一带一路网站上已被介绍(5个国家),但大部分参与BRI的非洲国家是因其他原因被列为一带一路国家TM(另外9个国家)。

从中国当局提供的第一张BRI地图中描绘的主要海上航线可见,非洲东部和北部对BRI非常重要(见上2)。一带一路网站介绍的非洲国家大多位于这些地区(2个东非国家和2个北非国家)。通过发现另外5个东非国家和1个北非国家签署了与BRI有关的协议,CGCP在这些地区确认了更多的一带一路国家TM

非洲南部和西部离BRI主干线较远,但这些地区共有4个国家是一带一路国家TM。尽管这些国家与BRI主要路线地理距离远,但这些国家的参与可能是由中国和这些国家的战略考虑所驱动的,以利用其现有关系在这全球计划下进行合作(例如,中国与南非作为“金砖五国”的关系,以及近年来中国与这些非洲国家共同发展的广泛投资和关系)。

  • 8个其他国家

剩下的一带一路国家TM真正体现了该倡议的开放性和包容性。 CGCP统计出在拉丁美洲(即中南美)以及遥远的大洋洲地区分别有5个和3个一带一路国家TM(见表4)。与非洲一样,近年来拉丁美洲的战略意义越来越受到中国的认可,而且可以预计BRI将为该地区带来更多机会,特别是在贸易和投资领域方面。[11]

 

《中国法律连接》中的一带一路国家TM分析

 

确定哪些国家已加入或将加入BRI只是CGCP深入研究BRI的开始。自倡议首次宣布以来,世界各地的有关各方一直在试图理解它的实际含义。悲观主义者担心参与国是否确实会从参与中受益。例如,作为这一全球计划的核心的跨国基础设施项目是否会让参与国债台高筑?然而,乐观主义者预测,这些基础设施项目将促进欠发达国家的经济发展。此外,乐观者可能会认为,BRI被写进中国宪法后,中国对BRI成功的需求将有助于带来让所有利益相关者受益的改革。

所有这些问题都需要长期专注的研究和分析。因此,CGCP决定在每期《中国法律连接》中(作为中法连聚焦TM系列的一部分),专题讨论一些一带一路国家TM,以展示BRI的实际实施情况,同时分享对此感兴趣的观察员所提供的分析。通过密切关注这个全球倡议如何转化为国家政策,以及世界各地的人们(例如当地商人和普通公民)如何参与其中,CGCP将帮助挖掘出当中的经验教训,并披露BRI承诺的双赢合作在不同地区实现的难易程度。中法连聚焦TM作品所分享的信息和分析也将丰富CGCP网站上的各个一带一路国家TM页面的内容。

BRI是一个雄心勃勃且复杂的计划,并有广泛的范围。如果这一倡议实施良好,中国会被视为一个真正负责任、受人尊敬的强国,并能够帮助制定解决全球挑战的国际政策。通过中法连聚焦TM系列中对一带一路国家TM的分析,CGCP希望该倡议的重要性得到了解,从而使包括中国在内的所有利益相关者,能够更好地寻求在这一影响深远的倡议下出现的法律、商业和其他问题的良好解决方案。

尾注

*           此中法连聚焦TM的引用是:英珍妮,《中国法律连接》与一带一路国家TM,《中国法律连接》,第1期,第80页(2018年6月),亦见于斯坦福法学院中国指导性案例项目,中法连聚焦TM,2018年6月,http://cgc.law.stanford.edu/zh-hans/clc-spotlight/clc-1-201806-bandr-1-jennifer-ingram。作者感谢中国指导性案例项目副执行编辑叶里依的研究支持和编辑协助。

英文原文由Dimitri Phillips和Mei Gechlik博士编辑。本中文版本由黄莉莎翻译,并由罗雯和熊美英博士最后审阅。载于本文的信息和意见作者对其负责,它们并不一定代表中国指导性案例项目的工作或意见。

[1]           联合国教育、科学及文化组织指出,被称为“香料之路”的海上航线也是该网络的重要组成部分。欲了解更多信息,见《关于丝绸之路》,联合国教育、科学及文化组织,https://zh.unesco.org/silkroad/guan-yu-si-chou-zhi-lu。

[2]           《推动共建丝绸之路经济带和21世纪海上丝绸之路的愿景与行动》,2015年3月28日由国家发展改革委、外交部、商务部(经国务院授权)联合发布,https://www.yidaiyilu.gov.cn/wcm.files/upload/CMSydylgw/201702/201702070519013.pdf。

[3]           同上,第七节。

[4]           见,例如Xi Says Belt and Road Forum Fruitful,Xinhua,2017年5月15日, http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/2017-05/15/c_136285787.htm。

[5]           CGCP对这些案例进行高质量的翻译,并在CGCP网站(http://cgc.law.stanford.edu/belt-and-road/b-and-r-cases)上发布为一带一路案例TM

[6]           在2017年一带一路论坛举行期间,就一带一路倡议的五大“合作重点”,签署了共160多份双边协议。

[7]           这一数字仅包括在《“一带一路”国际合作高峰论坛成果清单》中被明确确定为签署方的国家。该清单列出了出席2017年一带一路论坛的代表所签署的合作协议。“一带一路”门户网站上有或未有刊登的其他国家也可能在这高级别活动上签署了合作协议,但未在此清单中被明确标识为签署方。见,例如,“一带一路”国际合作高峰论坛成果清单(全文),《新华社》,2017年5月16日,http://www.xinhuanet.com/world/2017-05/16/c_1120976848.htm。

[8]           区域细分是基于联合国统计司通常被称为M49标准的分组方法。Standard Country or Area Codes for Statistical Use,U.N. Statistics Division,https://unstats.un.org/unsd/methodology/m49。

[9]           M49标准下没有北亚地区,俄罗斯在东欧分组。

[10]           2012年以来,举办了旨在加强中国与东欧和南欧国家合作的年度首脑会议。要获取更多信息,见《中国—中东欧国家合作》网站,http://www.china-ceec.org/chn。

[11]       今年年初,中国特意邀请拉美国家加入一带一路倡议。见,例如Chinese President Calls for Concerted Efforts with Latin America on B&R Initiative,Xinhua,2018年1月23日,http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/2018-01/23/c_136915970.htm。

CLC Spotlight™: China Law Connect and Belt & Road Countries™

CLC Spotlight™: China Law Connect and Belt & Road Countries™*

Date of Publication:
2018/06/15
Author(s):
  • Jennifer Ingram, Managing Editor, China Guiding Cases Project, Stanford Law School

To purchase a PDF file of this piece, please use the above "PURCHASE THIS ARTICLE" button.
The full text of this piece is available for free via e-China Law Connect. Please click here:



Jennifer Ingram
Managing Editor, China Guiding Cases Project, Stanford Law School
B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM

Jennifer Ingram is the Managing Editor of the China Guiding Cases Project (the “CGCP”).  Ms. Ingram began working with the CGCP when it was founded, while a student at Stanford Law School.  She has worked closely with Dr. Mei Gechlik, Founder and Director of the CGCP, on the management and development of the project, releasing groundbreaking products related to Guiding Cases and launching the Belt and Road Series to deepen stakeholders’ understanding of this significant but not yet fully understood development.  She also has experience in dispute resolution across diverse jurisdictions, ranging from South Africa and India to the Netherlands and Hungary, and has reviewed large-scale investment projects from a corporate and legal perspective as well as their impact on communities, recently focusing on projects in Kenya with Chinese investment.  Ms. Ingram received a B.A. in Literature from Yale College, where she also majored in Ethnicity, Race & Migration, and a J.D. from Stanford Law School.


CLC Spotlight

China’s Belt and Road Initiative

 

More than 2,000 years ago, the major civilizations of Asia, Europe, and Africa were linked through an extensive network of trade routes, along which they traded silk and many other goods, shared technologies, and had various intellectual and cultural exchanges that influenced the languages, practices, and religions of the region and, from there, the world (see Image 1).  The term “Silk Road” is often used to refer to this network, evoking images of large caravans traveling across the desert landscape.  These routes, however, were not only on land but also traversed the sea. [1]

B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM 1
Close-up of 9th century fresco from the Bezeklik Thousand Buddha Caves near Turfan, Xinjiang, China, depicting Sogdian merchants of ancient Iran. Color reproduction of mural, which was destroyed during WWII.
Source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:BezeklikSogdianMerchants.jpg

Fast forward to the Fall of 2013, when Chinese President XI Jinping, while on an official tour of Central and Southeast Asia, first mentioned China’s idea to revamp the historical Silk Road and bolster the modern-day land and sea links across these regions and the Middle East and other parts of Asia, Europe, and Africa. In March 2015, the Chinese government formally announced its plans to develop the “Silk Road Economic Belt and the 21st Century Maritime Silk Road” or the “Belt and Road Initiative” (the “BRI”), with five major “cooperation priorities”: policy coordination, facilities connectivity, unimpeded trade, financial integration, and people-to-people bonds. [2]

Countries Participating in the Initiative

 

While the substantive priorities of the BRI are clear, its geographical coverage is not.  The map first used by the official Chinese press to illustrate the BRI highlights two main routes (see Image 2): a land route connecting inland China to Europe through the Middle East, including a pass through Moscow ( “Silk Road Economic Belt”), and a sea route originating on the southern Chinese coast and moving through Southeast Asia and the Pacific Island region, the Indian Ocean, and over to eastern Africa before traveling through the Red Sea up to the Mediterranean ( “21st Century Maritime Silk Road”).  This map is, however, misleading.  The above-mentioned 2015 official document states explicitly that all countries as well as international and regional organizations are welcome to actively participate in the BRI. [3]

B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM 2
Image 2

No Official Count

There is no official count of countries involved in the BRI.  At the first Belt and Road Forum for International Cooperation, held in May 2017 in Beijing (the “2017 Belt and Road Forum”), President Xi said that 68 countries and international organizations had signed “Belt and Road cooperation agreements”. [4]  The official Belt and Road Portal (www.yidaiyilu.gov.cn), which was launched in March 2017, profiles 72 countries in a section titled “International Cooperation”.  It is, however, unclear whether only these 72 countries are considered to be officially participating in the global initiative.

The CGCP’s Count

The significance of the BRI and its implications for the world, especially legal developments inside and outside China, cannot be thoroughly understood unless it is clear who the players are.  Driven by a desire to shed light on these important topics, the China Guiding Cases Project (the “CGCP”) of Stanford Law School launched its Belt and Road Series in November 2016 to, inter alia, track the involvement of countries around the world in the BRI and feature these countries in the Belt & Road CountriesTM (the “B&R CountriesTM”) portion of the Belt and Road Series.

According to the CGCP’s research, there are, not including China, currently 101 B&R CountriesTM, which, according to the CGCP’s definition, are broadly divided into two groups.  The first group consists of countries that are expressly targeted by China in its plans for the BRI, as evidenced by their inclusion on the Belt and Road Portal and/or the fact that their citizens or companies registered there were involved in Belt & Road CasesTM (“B&R CasesTM”), which are exemplary cases released by the Supreme People’s Court showing how disputes relevant to the BRI have been successfully resolved by Chinese courts. [5]  The second group consists of countries which have taken affirmative steps to indicate their interest and/or involvement in the BRI by signing memoranda of understanding or cooperation agreements at the 2017 Belt and Road Forum [6] or by signing BRI-related agreements or pledging their support for the BRI at other times (see Image 3).

B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM 3
Image 3

Following this definition, the CGCP counts as B&R CountriesTM 29 countries in addition to the 72 currently listed on the Belt and Road Portal. These 29 countries include:

  • six countries whose private citizens or companies were involved in B&R CasesTM;
  • 11 countries that signed memoranda of understanding or cooperation agreements at the 2017 Belt and Road Forum (at least 47 of the 72 countries profiled on the Belt and Road Portal signed such agreements); [7] and
  • 12 countries that have indicated their interest at other times through pledges or joint statements or other agreements signed with China that relate to the BRI.

Image 4 shows the geographical distribution of the 101 B&R CountriesTM identified by the CGCP. [8]  A few observations are worth noting:

B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM 4
Image 4
  • 45 countries (almost all) in Asia

All of the countries in Central Asia (i.e., five), South-Eastern Asia (i.e., 11), Southern Asia (i.e., nine), and all but one of the 18 countries of Western Asia (that is, 17 countries) are B&R CountriesTM based on the fact that they have been featured on the Belt and Road Portal (see Table 1). [9]  China’s authorities have also highlighted the country’s closest neighbors in Eastern Asia (three countries), with two (i.e., Mongolia and South Korea) being listed on the Belt and Road Portal and one (i.e., Japan) involved in a B&R CaseTM.  Given the region’s central importance to the ancient Silk Road, the fact that the BRI was first introduced by President Xi while on an official visit to Central Asia, and the opportunities for the development of infrastructure and other ties across the continent, Asian countries are expected to play a central role in the global plan.  It is, therefore, not a surprise that almost all of these countries are B&R CountriesTM.

B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM 5

  • 34 countries in Europe

From its origins in Central Asia, the BRI, like the ancient Silk Road, has also attracted the participation of many European parties. All Eastern European countries (i.e., 10) and a majority of Southern European countries (i.e., seven) are profiled on the Belt and Road Portal, with the remainder of Southern European countries (i.e., three) having indicated their participation through BRI-related agreements. [10]  While the Belt and Road Portal also highlights some Northern European countries (i.e., three), there are four other B&R CountriesTM in this sub-region: two involved in B&R CasesTM and two having signed BRI-related agreements. Western Europe is the least represented European sub-region on the Belt and Road Portal (with just one country profiled), though more in the region have been identified as B&R CountriesTM based on their involvement in B&R CasesTM (two countries) and their signing of BRI-related agreements (four countries) (see Table 2). This seems to suggest that while Western European countries are quite interested in the BRI and are certainly welcome to participate, more needs to be done to bring them into the core of the Chinese plan.

B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM 6

  • 14 countries in Africa

As much as China wants to continue strengthening its relationships with African countries, Table 3 shows that many of these countries have not yet expressed clear intentions to join the BRI. While parts of Africa are profiled on the Belt and Road Portal (five countries), most of the African nations involved in the BRI (nine additional countries) have been identified as B&R CountriesTMfor other reasons.

B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM 7Eastern and Northern Africa are important to the BRI given the main maritime route traced in the first BRI map provided by the Chinese authorities (see above, Image 2).  Most of the African countries profiled on the Belt and Road Portal are located in these regions (two Eastern African countries and two Northern African countries).  The CGCP has identified even more B&R CountriesTM in these areas by discovering that five more Eastern African countries and one more Northern African country have signed BRI-related agreements.

Southern Africa and Western Africa are farther away from the main BRI routes, but a total of four countries in these regions are B&R CountriesTM.  The involvement of these countries despite their geographical distance from the main BRI routes is likely driven by the strategic consideration on the part of both China and these nations to leverage their existing relationships for cooperation under the global plan (e.g., China’s relationship with South Africa as a fellow “BRICS” nation as well as the extensive investments and relationships China has developed with these African countries over recent years).

  • Eight other countries

The remaining B&R CountriesTM truly reflect the open and inclusive nature of the initiative. The CGCP now counts five B&R CountriesTM in Latin (i.e., Central and Southern) America, as well as three in the distant Oceania region (see Table 4). Like Africa, Latin America in recent years has been increasingly recognized by China for its strategic importance, and the BRI is expected to drive more opportunities in the region, especially in the areas of trade and investment. [11]

B&R: <em>China Law Connect</em> and Belt & Road <em>Countries</em>TM 8

Analysis of B&R CountriesTM in China Law Connect

 

Identifying which countries have joined or will likely join the BRI is just the beginning of the CGCP’s in-depth study of the BRI.  Since the initiative was first announced, interested parties around the world have been trying to understand what it actually means.  Pessimists have expressed concerns over whether countries will indeed benefit from their participation.  For instance, will the transnational infrastructure projects at the center of the global plan result in impossibly high debt burdens for participating countries?  Optimists, however, predict that these infrastructure projects will promote economic development in less developed countries.  In addition, optimists may argue that China’s need to make the BRI a success following its enshrinement in the Chinese Constitution will help encourage reforms that can benefit all stakeholders.

All of these issues demand long-term commitment to focused research and analysis.  As a result, the CGCP has decided to feature in each issue of China Law Connect (as part of the CLC SpotlightTM Series) a few B&R CountriesTM to show exactly how the BRI is playing out on the ground, along with analyses contributed by interested observers.  By looking closely at how the global initiative is being translated into national policy and how people around the world (e.g., local businesspeople and regular citizens alike) are getting involved, the CGCP will help unearth lessons and reveal the degree to which the BRI’s promise of win-win cooperation will be easy or difficult to achieve in different regions.  The information and analyses shared through the CLC SpotlightTM pieces will also enrich the content of individual B&R CountriesTM pages featured on the CGCP website.

The BRI is an ambitious and complex plan with an expansive scope.  If the initiative is implemented well, China can come to be seen as a truly responsible and respectable global power that can help shape international policy to solve worldwide challenges.  It is the CGCP’s hope that, through the CLC SpotlightTM Series on B&R CountriesTM, the significance of the initiative will be understood, and all stakeholders, including China, can thereby be better informed to find good solutions for tackling legal, business, and other issues arising under the far-reaching initiative.

Endnotes

*           The citation of this CLC SpotlightTM is: Jennifer Ingram, China Law Connect and Belt & Road CountriesTM, 1 China Law Connect 75 (June 2018), also available at Stanford Law School China Guiding Cases Project, CLC SpotlightTM, June 2018, http://cgc.law.stanford.edu/clc-spotlight/clc-1-201806-bandr-1-jennifer-ingram.  The author thanks Liyi Ye, Associate Managing Editor of the China Guiding Cases Project, for her research support and editorial assistance.

The original, English version of this piece was edited by Dimitri Phillips and Dr. Mei Gechlik.  The information and views set out in this piece are the responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect the work or views of the China Guiding Cases Project.

[1]           The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization notes that the maritime routes, which came to be known as the “Spice Routes”, were also an important part of this network.  For more information, see About the Silk Road, U.N. Educ., Sci. & Cult. Org., https://en.unesco.org/silkroad/about-silk-road.

[2]           《推动共建丝绸之路经济带和21世纪海上丝绸之路的愿景与行动》(Vision and Actions on Jointly Building Silk Road Economic Belt and 21st-Century Maritime Silk Road), issued by the National Development and Reform Commission, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China, with State Council authorization, on Mar. 28, 2015, https://eng.yidaiyilu.gov.cn/qwyw/qwfb/1084.htm.

[3]           Id. Section VII.

[4]           See, e.g., Xi Says Belt and Road Forum Fruitful, Xinhua, May 15, 2017, http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/2017-05/15/c_136285787.htm.

[5]           The CGCP produces high-quality translations of these cases and publishes them as B&R CasesTM on the CGCP website, at http://cgc.law.stanford.edu/belt-and-road/b-and-r-cases.

[6]           Over 160 bilateral agreements were signed at the 2017 Belt and Road Forum across the five major “cooperation priorities” of the BRI.

[7]           This number only includes those countries explicitly identified as signatories in the List of Deliverables of the Belt and Road Forum for International Cooperation, which lists the cooperation agreements signed by representatives attending the 2017 Belt and Road Forum.  Other countries featured or not featured on the Belt and Road Portal may have also signed cooperation agreements at the high-level event but are not specifically identified as signatories in this list.  See, e.g., List of Deliverables of Belt and Road Forum, Xinhua, May 16, 2017, https://eng.yidaiyilu.gov.cn/qwyw/rdxw/13698.htm.

[8]           The regional breakdown is based on the U.N. Statistics Division groupings commonly referred to as the M49 Standard.  Standard Country or Area Codes for Statistical Use, U.N. Statistics Division, https://unstats.un.org/unsd/methodology/m49.

[9]           There is no Northern Asia region under the M49 Standard, with Russia being grouped in Eastern Europe.

[10]           Annual summits aimed at increasing cooperation between China and Eastern and Southern European countries have been organized since 2012.  For more information, see Coop. Betw’n China & Cent. & E. Eur. Countries, http://www.china-ceec.org/eng.

[11]           China specifically invited Latin American countries to join the BRI at the beginning of this year.  See, e.g., Chinese President Calls for Concerted Efforts with Latin America on B&R Initiative, Xinhua, Jan. 23, 2018, http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/2018-01/23/c_136915970.htm.